Sign up for E-Notifications if you want DeWitt Police Department alerts via email and/or text messages!

Police Commission

The Police Commission is comprised of a board of Police Commissioners who are appointed by the Town Board in accordance with Article 10, Section 150 of Town Law.  The Commission has the authority to exercise all the powers relative to police matters conferred upon the Town Board pursuant to Article 10 of Town Law.  The Commission has three members who are elected officials to the Town Board, one serving as the Chair-person.  The remaining Commissioners hold the status of non-voting and are members of the DeWitt community.  A meeting is held the second Thursday of each month at the DeWitt town hall, in which the Chief of Police reports to the Commission on all matters pertaining to the management and operation of the Department.

Police Commssion
Police Commission Members

Karen Docter (Commission Chair)
Jack Dooling
Sarah Klee Hood
Bernard Alex
Ernestine Cooper
Lorene Dadey
Susan DeMari
John Duncan
Laura Fiorenza
Paul Gottfried
Daniel Malay
Rohin Mehta
David Newman