The Patrol Division provides the primary public safety and law enforcement services for the Town of DeWitt.  The Patrol Division is comprised of one Lieutenant, five (5) Sergeants and twenty-three (23) Patrol Officers.  This division operates three, eight hour shifts, the  “A” shift  (11:00pm – 7:00am), the  “B” shift (7:00am – 3:00pm), and the “C” shift  (3:00pm – 11:00pm).  Fourteen marked vehicles are assigned for use in the division.  

Patrol Officers provide the following functions:  proactive police patrol and crime prevention, enforcement of appropriate federal, state, and local laws, crash investigation, reporting and preliminary investigation of criminal complaints, response to non-criminal complaints, response to calls for service.  Additionally, members of the patrol division are at the forefront of the community policing initiative.  Our Officers provide a wide range of services:  Community Patrol Program, Alert ID Program, Neighborhood Watch, Community Presentations, foot patrol, bicycle patrol, and motorcycle patrol.

Website Builder